Monday, September 27, 2010

The Future of the "Mental Ward" Album...

                                                      "The Mental Ward"

A lot of people lately have been trying to dig for facts on exactly what's going on with the "Mental Ward" album, and I figure it's due time that you fans deserve to know.

Right now, as I write this, the album is completely finished being recorded; so everyone can now rest easy about it not nearing completion.  It's a total of 10 (of the best) tracks, filled with energy, aggression, depression and angst.  Essentially, this album is the perfect Basick experience, which shows all the sides people love, and expands and raises the bar on all of them.

While the track listing isn't final, and these titles are in no specific order (Trust me, they're changing around), you can at least tell from the following list that this is a very serious, dark, and struggle-toned album:

1- "The Mental Ward" Ft. Liquid Assassin
2- "Die"
3- "Never See Me Fail" Ft. Max of Nihm
4- "Hell's Heavenly Lullaby"
5- "Dead To Me"
6- "Guns"
7- "Our Fault"
8- "Like Me"
9- "Own Two Feet"
10- "When I'm Gone"

Please keep in mind, this is not a final or official track listing, and is very subject to change.
See it more so as a preview of the possibilities; A gateway per say, of what to expect.

The rumors of a possible label signing, and the price of the album, will not be released at this time, But if you have any other questions, regarding the actual state of the album tracks, or the album itself, Please, feel free to comment the blog and I will happily respond!

Please remember to visit my pages:

-Basick Musick

The Open Door To The Mental Ward...

Welcome to the page!
As you may (or may not) know, I'm a grunge/rap musician from Wisconsin, by the name of Basick.

I've been around for a steady and long six years, slowly building up a name for myself.
It's seen the release of my first three mixtapes, of which I'll list later on in the blog.

But first, a little back story on who I am, and why you should give a fuck about me.

I started music back in '04, scribbling horribly pathetic lines of Dr. Seuss rhymes in old unused notebooks.
I recorded my "works of art" on Windows's "Sound Recorder" and on a 60 dollar phone's voice record. (trust me, this story gets better).

But wait!  Mr. Basick didn't end up falling dead into hip hop music.  Oh no, my friends.  Instead, in '06, I joined a local rock band, in which I was the lyricist and lead vocal (What a surprise!).  In time, though, that short-lived idea ran it's course, the band split up, and only I was left to carry on the musical dream.

After a years withdrawal  bit of work on my confidence, I invested in my first real microphone (An MXL 990).  Later that year, I released my first, and longest, mixtape, "Better Day Tomorrow" which circulated for a full two years, before being discontinued completely.

Ever since that following began however, it's been a bliss of music making.  I slowly upgraded my equipment, as my own writing and performing skills increased, leading to a professional sound and identity.  Four years have passed since the release of "Better Day Tomorrow" and in that time, I've jumped leaps and bounds.

It's seen the joining of Basick and Enigma Beats (A high ranking producer at the time), the increase in fans, support and high end connections, the release of both "Common Knowledge Vol. 1 & 2" and the growing attention from labels and artists across the state and nation.

Now this coming year of 2011 sees the release of his first official studio album "The Mental Ward", after teaming up with professional and talented producer Faet Beats ( and the experienced, genius audio engineer Cory Baker ( to bring a new level of personal, dark and morbid thoughts to the table, and your ear drums.

Hopefully, with your help, we can continue making this career in the coming years even better, my presence stronger, than ever before!

I hope to see your eyes and ears on this page once again in the near future,
Much love,
-Basick Musick